Life was different a week ago…

Last Sunday I was 28. I had another blog (one that, admittedly, I’d not written for since February), and I’d never had garlic poached in bacon fat.  Today I’m 29, I’ve started a new blog (this one), and on Thursday I gently poached 15 biodynamically grown garlic cloves in rich, savory bacon fat from a pastured pig.

P1040558

I hope that the garlic (which, incidentally, was smeared on toast and then drizzled with the garlic infused fat) propels me into my 29th year with renewed enthusiasm and vigor for sharing my thoughts, experiences, hopes and meals via this humble little bloggit.  I struggle sometimes to understand why anyone would want to read about the simple happenings of my life, but my friends assure me that they do, so I’ll give it another go.  Here’s hoping that my next post appears before my 30th birthday.

My hope is that I’ll use this blog to share recipes and stories, practice my writing, and keep in touch with friends and family. And, let’s face it, I’ve got an agenda. Which is to get you all to start drinking raw milk and planting seeds and eating things like cow heart and blood sausage and, of course, garlic cloves poached in bacon fat.

For now, though, I’ll just share the deliciousness of my “birthday season”. Truly, this has been one of the most tasty, glorious, grounded and celebratory weeks of my life. I’m a bit overwhelmed by it all, so for this inaugural post on the Pound Sweet blog, I’ve decided I’m going to tell the story of the past seven days in photos.  And a recipe or two.  Welcome, enjoy, thank you, etc.

P1040372_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040421_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040408

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040462_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040493_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040525_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040617_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040499
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040478
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

P1040529_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Beer Braised Chuck Roast
Ingredients
1 chuck roast
3 heads garlic, cloves separated and peeled
2 good quality beers
1 onion, sliced
2 Tbsp butter
15-20 cherry tomatoes
Method
preheat oven to 275F
1. Brown the chuck roast on all sides in the butter, over medium heat, preferably in a nice cast iron dutch oven.
2. Remove roast and pour a bit of the beer into the pan, just a tablespoon or two, and scrape up the brown bits.  Add onions and saute 5 minutes.  Place roast back in the pan, add whole garlic cloves and cherry tomatoes, and pour in the rest of the beer.
3. Roast in the oven for 3 hours, until meat is quite tender.  Remove and place on stove top and cook, gently simmering, another 45 minutes or so, until the beer gravy goodness has cooked down a bit and thickened.
Serve over egg noodles or rice!

Poached Garlic Cloves
Ingredients
15 whole cloves garlic
bacon fat
olive oil
Method
1. Place garlic cloves in small saucepan and add bacon fat (literally just save the fat next time you make bacon) and some olive oil, cloves should be covered by a half inch or so once bacon fat has liquified again.  Ratio should be 70/30 bacon fat to olive oil
2. Simmer 25-30 minutes or until cloves are easily mush-able.
Spread the mushy cloves on toasted bread and drizzle with some of the oil

5 responses to “Life was different a week ago…

  1. write on, woman!

  2. Of course we want to hear about your sweet life:) You do wonderful and beautiful things with it!
    Keep it up, girl!

  3. and ps…i LOVE LOVE LOVE the logo!

  4. I love the look of this, colors, logo, everything.. I love the b-day week in pictures (what a rapturous week for food.. but only one out of many for you!) congrats on the new site and I look forward to reading more.

  5. you are an amazing, amazing, lovely person, and i love you!

Leave a Reply

